Skip to content
May 24, 2010 / Brent Sears

Mourning the Loss

This perspective was given to me by one of my top ten most important people from college.  She was telling me the other day that students start to mourn the loss of their time as college students in the months and weeks before graduation.  I was floored when I thought about it.

I had been depressed that it was going to be over when my own graduation neared.  It represented such a huge change.  I was looking forward to not taking tests, paying a fortune to learn, and no longer eating meals that cost less than $3.  But at the same time I had put so much effort into my time as a college student.

There is certainly a period of grief and transition, in which time seems to slow down slightly after graduation.  Thoughts of how things could have been better, and missed opportunities.  There is certainly a sense of loss, but it doesn’t last long.

As the commercial says, “Life comes at you fast.”  But you are going to be fine, and tomorrow I will give you one reason why.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Linsey / May 24 2010 09:02

    Do I miss Cortland? Do I just feel out of my normal routine? Am I the only person who found a special closeness with Cortland this past week? I’m not sure. I think I miss it.

    I think I have a feeling of detachment. I seemed to work so hard that I didn’t even have time to think, and now that I can stop and smell the flowers, it’s over. This sounds pretty cliche, so maybe others feel this way as well.

    Luckily right now there are some children giggling and playing downstairs from me, so I am going to go play with them. I think they will help me through it… the children and the sunshine. The rest will work out in time.

    …and now that college is over, I have time to comment on everyone else’s blogs. Perhaps this is an indication that I should begin my own. Thanks for continuing to write, your entries are thought-provoking!

  2. brentsears / May 24 2010 16:08

    The day I returned from Ecuador the experience looked a lot different than it did 6 months later. At this point you’re too close to the situation. With time and reflection it will look different. Just like the way we mourn the death of those we love.

    Start writing! Find your voice. This is the practicing ground for finding your voice. College won’t teach you to find that. They are concerned with making you fit into state standards, fill required hours, and get the GPA that is required.

    This work is your own.

Leave a Reply

