Skip to content
June 2, 2010 / Brent Sears

What I Owe: Debt to My Teachers

I had a lot of bad teachers.  I had a lot of teachers who were good enough.  And I had a few teachers that changed my life.  I am indebted to all of them.  To the bad teachers because they helped me to find the things I didn’t want to do: to the okay teachers because they put up with me, and I put up with them: and to the remarkable teachers, I can’t tell you how much your contribution meant.  So I am going to show you with what I do, because I am indebted to you.

I have been given so much.  So many people have come along side me throughout my life and shared knowledge, wisdom, and insight.  How do I repay that?  What can I possibly do that will matter?  The answer is simple: imitate.  Take the best things that all my teachers have given me and give it to others.  Not because there is money attached to it.  Not because there is a policy in the HR manual for teachers that tells me I have to.  Not because there is someone else watching.

How about because conscience is guiding me?  How about because I want to change someone’s world today even if it is only helping them take one step?  How about because this is the legacy of all my teachers?

In the modern world today, everyone has the ability to be a teacher.  You use a computer don’t you?  That, an Internet connection, and the desire to share are all you really need.  You may never be called upon to save the plant, but at the same time, the world needs you.

Leave a Reply

