Skip to content
June 16, 2010 / Brent Sears

Want to Volunteer in a Foreign Country?

Want to Volunteer in a Foreign Country?

I received the greatest email today!  I was from a guy named Dan who had met with me a while back about going abroad for the summer.  He and his girlfriend wanted to find a program to go on and since they currently live together they wanted to do so wherever they went.  Oh, did I mention that Dan is a senior and his girlfriend is in a major that is completely different from his?  And, on top of that they had missed the summer deadlines for applications.

Most advisors would have said, “Sorry, there is nothing I can do for you.”  So I told them to go find an organization that would allow them to do all the things they wanted to do, in a place they wanted to go, for no credit whatsoever.  And when they find the program they need to start a travel blog to chronicle their adventure, because they would be awesome!

Guess what?  Dan is an adventurer, and he did everything I suggested above.  He sent me the blog link today of how they will be going to Nicaragua and all the great things they will be doing when they leave on the 27th June.  I have asked him to blog about how he found the program and what the details are.   If he gives me permission I will link to it, so that everyone can see how to go out on their own and find a cool program.

Leave a Reply

