Skip to content
June 25, 2010 / Brent Sears

Lost Time

For the past three years I have warn the Nike Triax running watch.  It sleek, highly functional, and fits my wrist perfectly.  And last night as I was finishing packing I realized I have not had it since Sunday.  My original plan was to time the trip from the moment I left my front door to the time I checked in at the accommodation in Australia.  I was going to say, “It took me X amount of hours of travel time to get from Tully, NY to Brisbane, Australia” But why does that even matter?

I love my watch, but I am glad I don’t have it.  I am living by events, like catching my flight at 1855 from JFK.  There are no mini-goals in between.  I don’t have any meetings I have to attend.  There is no work for me to do.  This is the first time I have been on vacation since I can remember; no volunteering, no agenda, no “perpetual motion.”

For those of you who don’t know about the trip I will bring you up to speed: I originally booked airline ticket on Qantas Air for a two-week trip around the Australian Outback with a group of student teachers from SUNY Cortland.  In the meantime, my contract was not renewed because a national search is being done to fill the study abroad advisor position permanently.  That means I have to apply for it.  That will give me at least a month before I need to interview, so I am extending my stay in Australia…I think.  I just found out about his 168 hrs ago and so I have had to make a lot of changes in a short amount of time.

After the Outback trip I don’t know where I am going to live here, but I have packed just a backpack and the smallest computer bag known to man.  I will cross that bridge when I get there, and to change my original flight will be easy.  Have you ever heard of Coach Surfing?  (I forgot to tell my mother about it before I left.)

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Colin and Luke / Jun 25 2010 20:23

    Hey Brent,
    It’s Colin and Luke we’ve been reading your blog is great! We like going swimming everyday at grandma’s. We got the read eight books get a free one yea but haven’t started started yet. We got a net and pattles for the pingpong table.
    See Ya
    Colin and Luke

  2. Colin and Luke / Jun 26 2010 09:44

    Hey Brent,
    We found your watch its at our house on the washer. Just so you know its here. When you get home you can find it

  3. Colin and Luke / Jun 26 2010 09:45

    Hey Brent,
    We found your watch its at our house on the washer. Just so you know its here. When you get home you can get it

Leave a Reply

