Skip to content
June 26, 2010 / Brent Sears

Fully Adjusted

I may be speaking too soon, but I am at the beach watching the waves at 550 am local time and I have found my people.  This is how I want to live while I am in Australia.

It is winter here, so the sky is totally dark right now, the moon is full, and I would say it is about 60F.  This is the first time I have ever seen waves that I could surf.  I am facing east and I think there is a hint of the morning sun coming trough the clouds.  I knew I was on the right track about 20 minute ago when a dozen cyclists went flying by.  I wanted to jump on my Giant TRC and join them in the worst way.

The beach is stating to come alive.  I am glad I was here to watch it transform.  Walkers, runners, surfers, and dog walkers are all waiting to watch the sun come up.  The sky is like a canvas before me.  It is not a clear day but there are a few beraks in the clouds that create a touch of white in the night sky: as morning overcomes the darkness.  The sounds of the waves seem louder than when I first arrived.  At my back, is the tourist town of Mooloolaba, and in front of me is the Pacific Ocean

The coastline is starting to take shape, being revealed for the first time.  I knew it existed all along, but I just found it anew.  As I look out as far as I can see, there is an ever growing distinction between the water and the sky.  That definitive line didn’t exist ten minutes ago.

I will watch without the computer for 15 more minutes.  The sky is starting to turn orange and daylight is revealing my landscape for today.  I am going to do run on the beach, with my toes in the water.

And that seals the deal.  A man in his 60’s is entering the water alone.  For all you all:  he is wearing a Speedo.  The perfect end to this post.

Leave a Reply

