Skip to content
June 26, 2010 / Brent Sears

I Got a Phone Number before Leaving LAX

Cray, Emily, her 3 year old (he looks like Andre), and I parted ways at LAX, and I was walking around the airport to keep my legs going.  I stopped to talk to a young woman with a green Ithaca is Gorges t-shirt who I found out is going onto Sydney to meet friends.  She graduated from Ithaca college a few years ago and lives in NYC.

From there I walked around some more, did some people watching, and then went downstairs where there was carpet.  There was a women sitting there with a 10 year old, next to an ever-coveted airport wall outlet.  There was one plug free and she asked if I needed it.  I said no, but sat down10 feet away and conversation soon followed.

Her name is Linda and she is going to back to Cairns with her grandson Jaxon.  Jaxon asked me if I had an iPad, I said no, but I told him I had my Mac and my iPod Touch.  Then I whipped out the Kindle, and neither of them had ever seen on before.

We had a great time chatting on the floor for about 30 minutes, and Linda (or Nanna ask Jaxon calls her) looked at my itinerary and found out that I will be traveling through Cannes.  She wrote down her number if I was in the area and could stop by.  From there Jaxon and I proceeded to play a motocross game on his PSP.  Jaxon was born is Australia, but he and his parents live in Texas.  Lucky for him he gets to pass the summer on holiday in Australia with his Nanna.

Leave a Reply

