Skip to content
July 13, 2010 / Brent Sears

How Do You Throw a Boomerang?

When traveling, it is so much easier to find gifts for women than it is for men, at least for me.  Everywhere I have been there has been an abundance of trinkets, jewelry, and nic-nacs that women love.  The men on the other hand are more difficult, so with Australia I made a rule: anyone who had completed 3rd grade was getting a boomerang.  (Mom was hoping for t-shirts because they have a much lower chance of creating a need to call the dentist/doctor/window repairman/insurance company.)

So, when all the gifts were dispersed, my brother Luke asked the obvious: How do I throw my boomerang? I told him what little I knew, because I had done it all of once myself, and then told him to go look it up on YouTube.

He was sitting there watching the video, and I thought back to my childhood.  If I had received an authentic boomerang from Australia, my older brother and I would have gone outside, thrown the things unsuccessfully for 30 minutes, made no progress, and never tried again.  How would we have learned to throw it?

Luke doesn’t have this problem, or if he does, it is not as big of a deal.  Billy and I couldn’t have found the information, so improvement would have meant a lot of trial and error.   Luke watches three videos, knows the basics, and figures it out in the first 30 minutes.

On a larger scale, my brother Luke is going to need different things in his education than Billy and I did: not because he is smarter, but because he has access to better tools.  With information being so plentiful, does that mean Luke needs to go to a school for 13 years of his life like Billy and I did?  Or do they just need to teach him different things?

Leave a Reply

