Skip to content
August 1, 2012 / Brent Sears

With Too Many Options It’s Hard to Be Bored

I can’t remember the last time I was bored.  It must have been years ago.  I think it started when I took a semester off from college because I couldn’t the cost of living.  Before that I had been bored A LOT!  But mainly because I was doing jobs that were not all that interesting just to keep my head above water.  And I was doing the same while I wasn’t in school, but at night, I was free to go to the library and read anything I wanted. 

Each night was like an exploration, and life has never been the same since.  I was into learning purely because I wanted to grow – and it was nice knowing there was no one ready to grade my work.  Since then, my learning has been constant.

Today I noticed something when I returned half a dozen books to the library unread.  I can’t possible consume everything I want to learn.  There are more online tutorial, books, Youtube videos, and blogs to keep me busy for the rest of my life. 

The challenge is to stay focused each day on the wildly important.  It takes real discipline to define exactly what needs to be done, and what doesn’t.  The other obstacle is saying no – to myself and others.  When hard or mundane tasks come up in the day it is easy to rationalize investing another hour with an amazing author or speaker.  But that task is the one thing that will push the work forward.  That is the real challenge. 

The real work is not in wandering through the sea of knowledge.  It’s picking an edge, digging in deep, putting the blinders on and cranking out what needs to be done.  That is the thing I struggle with every single day. 

But I am never bored!

Leave a Reply

